Rose Hartley




Maggie’s Going Nowhere, Rose Hartley’s debut novel published by Penguin Random House in 2020, is available from Dymocks, Amazon, Readings, Angus & Robertson, QBD, Robinsons, and Apple Books and the audiobook version narrated by Miranda Tapsell is available at Audible.


Egg freezing: ‘What if I fall in love at 38 and am flooded with maternal longing?’ published in The Guardian 24/2/2020

Winters of change: artists and writers reflect, published in the Sydney Morning Herald Spectrum magazine 12/6/2020

Short fiction

No Other Men in Mitchell published in Nightmare Magazine, February 2016

Captain Marvelous published in f(r)iction #2, summer 2015

Hard Rubbish, runner up, Right Now fiction competition, published in Poetic Justice: Contemporary Australian Voices on Equality and Human Rights, 2014


Metal Fume Fever, winner, Axel Clark Memorial Prize for Poetry 2014, published in Writ Poetry Issue 2

The Night Before the Day After, runner up, 457 Prize for Poetry 2014


Q&A with Lectito

The Book Podcast, episode 151, 18/2/2020

A Day in the Life of a Writer by Jodi Gibson, 16/2/2020

An Interview with Rose Hartley, by Samantha Brennan

Articles and Reviews

Books That Changed Me: Rose Hartley, Sydney Morning Herald 18/1/2020

‘These Four Books Are Near Impossible to Put Down and I Challenge You to Even Try It’, Buzzfeed, 18/2/2020

Announcing the Judith Wright Poetry Prize Shortlist, Overland, 25/2/2020

Review of Maggie’s Going Nowhere, Book’d Out, 10/1/2020

Review of Maggie’s Going Nowhere by Samantha Brennan

Review of Maggie’s Going Nowhere, New Idea

Review of Maggie’s Going Nowhere, Chicklit Club

Subscribe for irregular updates

* indicates required